About

The PRSA Central Ohio Chapter is a leader in furthering the development of Columbus’ public relations professionals. Founded in 1950 as the first society chapter in Ohio, we serve more than 360 members in our region in the agency, corporate, government and non-profit sectors.  Founded as the “Columbus PRSA Chapter,” we changed our name in 1960 to the “PRSA Central Ohio” to better reflect our regional focus. From the beginning, our chapter has been a leader and innovator in the public relations industry:

  • In 1958 we elected as our chapter president Ivy V. Farley, the first woman in the country to hold such a spot.
  • In 1961 we were the first chapter to present Outstanding Citizen, Distinguished Practitioner and Rookie-of-the-Year awards.
  • In 1965 we had the most members (six) accredited in Ohio when PRSA announced its first list of accredited members.
  • In 1968 we became the host for Ohio’s first PRSSA Chapter (at The Ohio State University). We now support seven PRSSA chapters.
  • The Central Ohio Chapter won the 1976 PRSA National Chapter Banner Award.

We held our first professional development conference in 1951, and professional development remains a cornerstone of our chapter. We host regular luncheons, Masters events, webinars and other professional development events to help our members sharpen their skills while building valuable relationships with others in our industry.

Calendar
Succeed
Mission, Vision & Bylaws
Leadership Team

Mission, Vision & Bylaws

Our mission and vision statements encourage our leadership team and committee chairs to advance the public relations profession, while the Bylaws govern the activities of the organization.

Mission

To empower a diverse and inclusive community of members to drive strategic outcomes within their organizations by:
• promoting ethical practice
• building dynamic relationships
• providing growth opportunities and
• recognizing excellence

Vision

To be a leading PRSA chapter that embodies the values and ethics of the profession

Bylaws

Leadership Team

President
Beth Watkins
Beth Watkins Communications
bethwatkins.pr@gmail.com
Immediate – Past President
John Palmer
The Ohio Hospital Association
john.palmer@ohiohospitals.org
President-Elect
Erin Maggied
NiSource
erinmaggied@gmail.com
VP Planning & Procedures
Dace de la Foret
Nationwide
dace.delaforet@gmail.com
Treasurer
Alicia Shoults
Ohio Expo Center & State Fair
alicia.shoults@expo.state.oh.us
VP Membership
Diane Hurd
Inspire PR Group
diane@inspireprgroup.com
VP Programs
Lara Kretler
Vice President, FrazierHeiby
lkretler@frazierheiby.com
VP of Communications
Lisa Arledge Powell
MediaSource
larledge@mediasourcetv.com
Ethics Officer
Gayle Saunders, APR
The Saunders Company
gayle@thesaunderscompany.com
Chapter Administrator
Karen Kaiser
administrator@prsacentralohio.org

Board of Directors

Mindy Justis
MurphyEpson
mjustis@murphyepson.com

Alisha Nelson
Ohio Attorney General’s Office
Alisha.Nelson@OhioAttorneyGeneral.gov

Katie Sabatino
Inspire PR Group
Katie@InspirePRGroup.com

Heather Bartman
Fahlgren Mortine
heatherbartman@gmail.com

Jen House, APR
Vorys, Sater, Seymour and Pease LLP
jrhouse@vorys.com

Katie Thomas, APR
Nationwide Children’s Hospital
Katie.Thomas@nationwidechildrens.org

Delegates:

Kerry Francis, APR
Ohio Department of Commerce
kerry.francis@com.ohio.gov

Jaron Terry, APR, Fellow
Jaron Terry Communications, Ltd.
jaronterry@columbus.rr.com

Alisa Agozzino, Ph.D., APR
Ohio Northern University
Assistant Professor of Public Relations
a-agozzino@onu.edu

There are no upcoming events at this time.
See more on Flickr